used to be a Sewing Blog – Now KDrama

Mom’s BugOut Box

This year, mom made all of her kids (we are 7) emergency supply kits. We prefer to call them bug out boxes.

It consisted of two parts. A disaster blanket (mine was apparently “extra warm”) and 3 bottles of water in a drawstring bag (mine has a Noah’s Ark print – hopefully, she’s not foretelling a mini-Great Flood) and the kit itself, a plastic tote full of supplies for daily living.

IMG_1242

I wanted to put my supplies in a latching box – so I decided to take a photo inventory of everything for you. I think mine is a bit different then my siblings because I have to watch what I eat.  Pardon the shadows.

 

Now obviously, this isn’t a full emergency supply kit.  It won’t last very long and doesn’t contain any first aid supplies, but it’s meant to be something small that we could take with us if we had to be evacuated somewhere.  And it’s heavy on sugars and protein – which is important. Not bad for a lady whose idea of emergency preparedness has been a well, wood stove, and a full pantry.

The disaster blanket and water are meant to stay in our cars during the winter in case we get stranded.

I’m accident prone and wanted a latching box, so I transferred it into this box that I had already. I even have room to add some additional supplies.

 

This year was the year for survival kits in my family. She made us those & my 2nd sister made her a “Survive when the grandkids come kit” –  it was full of plastic dishes and some treats for Mom (not for the kids) & some DVDs for Mom that that the kids might want to watch.  My 3rd sister also made me an winter survival kit. It consisted of Pepsi, chocolate, Pepsi, canned spaghetti, chocolate, Pepsi, dried meals, Pepsi and, oh yeah, Pepsi. I’m a caffeine addict.

 

On a more serious note, if you don’t have an emergency supply kit/bug out box/zombie apocalypse kit, here is a starter list of the items to have. http://www.redcross.org/prepare/location/home-family/get-kit.

One thing that I think is often brushed over/forgotten. “Sanitation and personal hygiene items” means along with soap, wipes and toilet paper etc, you should also have a supply of pads/tampons (if your family uses them) and not just a couple. I suggest keeping your spare pack with your emergency supplies and replacing them as needed. A bad situation will only be worse if you find yourself evacuated because of a natural disaster and you don’t have the supplies you need.  If you’re a man reading this, don’t get grossed out – if it makes you feel more macho, you can say they make good fire starters. 🙂 But seriously, if you care about the women in your family, be prepared.

Comments on: "Mom’s BugOut Box" (1)

  1. Nice post. I am behind in my reading by about a year. For the record, I am not prepared. I have a first aid kit but in a disaster I would most likely lose my head. In a zombie apocalypse I would assuredly be eaten first. Happy new year. 🖖🏼

Leave a Reply

