used to be a Sewing Blog – Now KDrama

DIY Star Trek Uniform Top

I’m going to revert this blog temporarily back to its namesake.  This is my latest inept seamstress project, a DIY, Star Trek TNG Uniform facsimile top.  This isn’t by any means close a real top because it is only blue in the middle and the sleeves.  This has the look that someone will say “oh, that’s Star Trek”I am also a bad sewer so this is from a distance.

What I did:

1st step – go to Goodwill.
Find a niceish quality Tee in science officer blue.
Also find a black turtleneck tank of approximately the same size

2nd step – get out scissors.
Cut the shoulders off of the black tank.
Cut around the sleeves and across the top approximately even with the neckline.  In the same shape as your new shoulders.
Remember that the new shoulders should be longer then what you cut off the tee so you don’t get a gaping hole.  In other words, don’t do what I did.

3rd step – get out sewing machine.
Place new shoulders on Top of tee.  This will allow you to take advantage of the already finished area. (I used it as my guide as well for a straightish seam)
Line up shoulder seams.
Sew around sleeves.
Discover gaping hole between the black portion and the blue portion.
##$#$$#.
Sew the other side.

Flip inside out, carefully. Don’t let it get twisted up.
With the black fabric on top, line up the blue and black portions (Right sides together).
As you line up. realize that you have lumps where the hole was
Realize that the black is slightly narrow then the blue.
So as you sew, pull the black fabric taut so it becomes the same width.
Flip to the back and repeat.

4th step – Dig out a long straight black skirt (or slacks) from your closet.

5th step – find Star trek communicator pin.

6th step – get dressed & take picture to show off, or at least show the idea.

7th step – try to recover from the flashes.

I’m a great idea person – I just have problem with the implementation.

My Uniform

My Uniform – (I would ask does this uniform make me look fat, but I know the answer)

Comments on: "DIY Star Trek Uniform Top" (5)

  1. OMG the unholy trinity….sewing, Kdramas and a Trekkie!!!!!! I love it. And I don’t mean you are un holy, I just don’t want to associate God with our bad (but wonderful) habits. LOL you look great!

  2. I don’t know much about sewing, but you look great! Your Trekkie T-shirt looks quite authentic to me ^^

Leave a Reply

