used to be a Sewing Blog – Now KDrama

Intro: Subtitle rating

I’m a word person. And by that I mean, I love words, how they flow together and how just rephrasing a thought can turn it from ho-hum to awesome. I can’t do awesome. I admire people who can. I wanted to be a writer (even studied it in college), but I realized I don’t have the gift. IRL, I’m an technical editor (hard to believe, right?). So I still work with words just with longer syllables then I had planned.
Anyway, this is all to introduce why I’m going to create a new page or feature (I’m not sure how I’m going to handle it), ratings of streaming sites subs. As I rewatch (or even watch) dramas, I’m going to list what I like & dislike about the subs I see. Which site has the subs that make me go “aawww” rather than “oh.”
The sites (at this time) that I’ll be reviewing will be Dramafever, Viki, Netflix, CrunchyRoll (probably) with probably a few fan subs thrown in. Please remember that reviews of subs are typically specific to a particular drama since there is always variation within a site.
Because Korean and English translation can’t be word for word, there are typically lots of ways to translate a Korean sentence into English, especially with the long romantic conversation. My focus will be on which ones are just plain awesome & seem to accurately reflect the words (or in some cases intent) of the Korean.
Please keep in mind that my Korean vocabulary is about 200 words and I know very little of the grammar so I most of the time I’ll be dependent on the subs. However, I’ll try to note if someone translates “like” as “love” and other little things like that.

Comments on: "Intro: Subtitle rating" (3)

  1. I think this is an excellent idea! Something I noticed that in general Viki subs tend to be a lot more technically correct (from what I can understand) whereas Hulu and DramaFever tend to “westernize” them too much. As in they almost always put names instead of things like “oppa” or “ajhumma” which to me are such a huge deal. Or they just skip out large portions of dialogue to simplify it to one sentence. Luckily I am starting to recognize enough Korean that I can pick up the gist of stuff they leave out. They also don’t seem to note when things switch to banmal (though I am getting better at picking that up) and Viki often does. Now I think I will pay more attention and come and post more about specific dramas as I watch them. I remember particularly that the DramaFever You’re Beautiful subs translated 좋아 (joh-a) as love – and so it lost it’s power when he actually said 사랑해 (saranghae). Sorry this is such a long entry!

    • Don’t apologize. That’s good stuff. That I should have said. 🙂 My guess is that Dramafever tends to use prof. translators who just try to get meaning across while Viki (of course) uses fans who are doing basically Word for Word

  2. I love words too! And I have to agree on what a difference a good translation makes! It can take you anywhere from “huh?” to “Awwww..” for the exact same scene! Good translations also help me pick up Korean, which is one of my thrills of watching kdrama. And picking up more Korean helps me appreciate a good (or identify a bad) translation, and the cycle goes on..! 😉

Leave a Reply

