used to be a Sewing Blog – Now KDrama

Ok – I’m going to issue a challenge to fellow Kdrama fans. Next time, you rewatch a drama, watch it on a different site with different subtitles.

Several reasons for this: the main one is I think we get a better flavor of what is actually said if we see how different sites translate the same line. You may find you really love 1 particular scene better on 1 site then another. Case in Point: In You’re Beautiful (my favorite as everyone knows), TaeKyung tells MiNam something that is translated by various sites “don’t be in the dark” and “don’t be where I can’t see you” among others. I’m a romantic; so when he yells out during the MV screening I like the one where he yells “I told you not to be where I can’t see you.” Perhaps “don’t be in the dark” is just as or even more accurate (I haven’t a clue), but I have my preference.

Another reason, you may find your favorite site is going to take a backseat for certain dramas. My favorite site is Dramafever, but I’ve started watching Netflix (30 day trial – probably will do a month or 2 extra) and I’ve also use Viki a lot more now (mostly for simulcast because it is quicker and I think the subs are more accurate/detailed). Dramafever still wins for ease of use, but in 2013, I’ll be watching a lot less Dramafever and more from other sites.

Another reason, there are certain untranslatable things that just don’t work in English whether because they are puns or Korean cliche’s an exact translation won’t really work unless an explanation is given. So seeing how other sites handled stuff like that is very interesting. Another scene from You’re Beautiful. TaeKyung is in the practice room and HyeYi is outside. In the course of the scene, she writes a note to him and presses it against the glass. She misspells a word (apparently, an easy one – not Antidisestablishmentarianism). So TaeKyung writes the correct spelling in BIG letters on the glass (I hope it was dry erase). My favorite variation of this scene is something along this line (not exact quote).

“I’ll make you pie for this.”
“PAY – No thanks for the pie “(which is awkward – I’d prefer “I don’t want your pie”)

That exchange accurately (IMO, at least) reflects the character of the exchange. An exact translation isn’t required. But some sites do the exact translation, but also provide an 1 sentence explanation of these untranslatables.

There are other reason I’m sure, but I’m too tired to think of them.

So if you are going to be rewatching a Drama anyway, mix it up and go watch on Dramafever, Viki, CrunchyRoll, Hulu (includes Dramafever, Viki & others), Netflix (DVD subs are likely different from the streaming) or download srts from a different site if that is how you watch.

BTW, I’m going to attempt to write reviews of the subbing in shows I rewatch and let you know, which sites have the best subs. But that is only if I can remember where I watched in the 1st place. 🙂

Comments on: "You’ve gotta have Subs – Kdrama Challenge" (2)

  1. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

    • Thanks – I’ve several blog ideas in my head right now, but RL has been hectic. I hope it will calm down next month.

Leave a Reply

